or sign in with email

The Harris County Republicans Party (HCRP) is a volunteer organization.

HCRP is part of the Texas Republican Party and is the
official Republican Party Organization in Harris County.


Latest News

Rules Committee Meeting September 21, 2020


Pursuant to Article VIII, Section D. of the Harris County Republican Party BYLAWS, I am hereby issuing an official meeting call for the Rules Committee of the Harris County Republican Party for September 21, 2020 at 7 p.m. to be held at the Harris County Republican Party, located at 2501-A Central Parkway, Suite A11, Houston, Texas 77092.

Your first order of business will be the election of a permanent chairman of the committee.

The Committee roster is as follows:

SD 4 (E)                George May

SD 6 (E)                Tammie Nielsen

SD 7 (E)                Rori Ortiz

SD 7 (E)                Mark McCaig

SD 11 (E)              Rebecca Hucker

SD 13 (E)              Matthew Cowan

SD 15 (E)              Vergel Cruz

SD 15 (E)              Josh Flynn

SD 17 (E)              David Lampenfield

SD 17 (E)              Ed Sarlls

SD 18 (E)              Howard Barker

CCA                       vacant

County Chairman (Ex Officio)      Keith Nielsen

Treasurer (Ex Officio)                  Josh Flynn

Parliamentarian (Ex Officio)         Jeff Larson

Legal Counsel (Ex Officio)            Chris Carmona




 Dawn Elliott who was declared the winner of the SD 13 Chair race has stated she believes there was an error in the vote count for SC Chair at the 8/3/20 caucus organizational meeting. Three candidate ran for that office Dawn Elliott, Carl McConnell, and Matt Cowan. Dawn Elliott and Carl McConnell have agreed to a new election and Matt Cowan has declined to run again for the position of SD 13 Chair.  Dawn and Carl have also agreed on the location.

According to the bylaws and rule a 14 day notice is required, see Article VI below.

This is your official notice.

As per Article VI, Section 2 we would need a 14 day notice and a quorum is defined as 25% of the District Executive Committee.    Said meeting needs to be called by the County Chairman and before the next Executive meeting.  

ARTICLE VI - Organization

Section 2 - District Chair Vacancies: Vacancies in the office of Senatorial District Chairman shall be filled at a Senatorial District Executive Committee meeting called by the County Chairman to occur no later than the date of the next County Executive Committee Meeting. The County Chairman shall call the meeting to fill a vacancy, or remove a District Chairman. If he fails to call a meeting, such a meeting may be called by any member of the affected District upon written demand of one fourth (1/4) of the membership of that District. A two-thirds vote of those present and voting is required to remove a District Chairman. For the purposes of this section a quorum shall be twenty-five percent (25%) of the District Executive Committee. The call for such a meeting shall be sent to all of the District Executive Committee membership. Such call shall be postmarked at least fourteen (14) days prior to the meeting. The call shall include the purpose of the meeting, and shall provide for the election of a new chairman,

Date: Sunday, September 13, 2020
Time: 2:30 PM
Location: Church of the Cross
                3835 S. Dairy Ashford Rd.
                Houston Texas 77082

Keith Nielsen
Chairman, Harris County GOP

Texas Supreme Court temporarily blocks Harris County from sending mail-in ballot applications to all its voters

The Supreme Court of Texas halted the attempt by democrat interim Harris County Clerk Chris Hollins to flood the election process with unsolicited ballots. The Harris County Republican Party joined in the litigation led by former Harris County Republican Party Chairman Jared Woodfill who filed the petition with the Supreme Court. This unprecedented and improper action by the appointed interim clerk and Texas Democratic Party official left our party no options.

In May, following the 2020 primary election, then Harris County Clerk Diane Trautman abruptly resigned after Harris County Commissioner Rodney Ellis began pushing the idea of sending mail ballots to all voters. Additionally, Trautman came under fire for running inefficient elections, including the 2020 March primary election where democrat primary voters were in line until 2 a.m. The November 5, 2019 city election results were delayed for over twelve hours. Ultimately, the democrat leader of the Harris County Ballot Board refused to sign off on the election results. The City of Houston mayoral runoff election had different problems like delayed issuance of election equipment.

Elections are the cornerstone of our democracy. Democrat candidates suffer disproportionately in a corrupted election process. There is at least one democrat primary election under review by the Harris County District Attorney’s Office involving a candidate in the Democrat primary.

Governor Abbott Appoints Landrum To 164th Judicial District Court

August 21, 2020 | Austin, Texas 

Governor Greg Abbott has appointed Michael Landrum as Judge of the 164th Judicial District Court in Harris County for a term set to expire on December 31, 2020, or until his successor shall be duly elected and qualified.

Read more

Passing of Ruby Louise Cubley

We are sad to announce the passing of a BARW Past President, Ruby Louise Cubley.  Ruby was a great pioneer for the Republican Party and her community.  Words can not express this loss of this dear lady.  

I have attached a link for information about her viewing and funeral which will be held at Forest Park East Funeral Home.  The viewing will be August, 24, 2020 from 5:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.  The funeral will be on August 25, 2020 from 10:00 a.m. - 11:00 a.m.

Please open the link which will tell you so much more about Ruby and her family. On behalf of BARW we send our condolences to her husband, children, family and friends.


Ruby you will be greatly missed by all who had the pleasure of knowing you!


Beverly Ferguson-Cooper, M.Ed.


Bay Area Republican Women



Harris County Republican Party Statement on the Texas Primary Runoff Elections

HOUSTON, July 15, 2020 – Five Republican candidates won their primary runoff elections tonight and will be added to the general election ballot in Harris County on November 3, 2020, including Troy Nehls in Texas's 22nd Congressional District, Wendell Champion in Texas's 18th Congressional District, Terry Adams for 1st Court of Appeals, Place 5, Joe Danna for Harris County Sheriff, and Russ Ridgeway for Justice of the Peace, Precinct 5, Place 1.

Read more

Harris County Commissioners Court Appoints Democrat Party Official to Oversee Elections

HOUSTON, May 20, 2020 – Harris County Republican Party Chairman Paul Simpson released the following statement today after the Democrat-led Harris County Commissioners Court appointed Texas Democrat Party official Christopher Hollins to oversee elections as interim County Clerk:

Read more

Harris County Republican Party Response to County Clerk Diane Trautman’s Resignation

Chairman Paul Simpson Issues Statement on County Judge Lina Hidalgo's Extreme Government Overreach Amid Coronavirus Pandemic

Harris County Republican Party Letter to County Clerk Diane Trautman Warns Against Suppression of Free Speech

«  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9    23  24  »